All you Need to Know about PGMP Certification

6 mins read

PgMP is considered the most popular and sought-after certification of the PMI or the Project Management Institute. It is meant for individuals who want to become certified program managers and gain advanced skills and knowledge in the program management field. Obtaining the PgMP certification is not easy. It is a long process involving different stages of reviews from the program managers’ panel and the PMI, followed by a four-hour long exam. In this blog, we will discuss with you all you need to know about the PMI certification exam.

What is PgMP Certification?

PgMP is a well-reputed certification for aspiring program managers. However, the candidates don’t automatically become program managers after passing the exam and getting the certification. There are still many requirements to satisfy and reviews to undergo before they become a full-fledged certified program manager. 

Exactly What are the benefits of the PgMP certification?

  • Acquiring PgMP certification makes the candidates stand out from their colleagues and other job applicants and grasp the employer’s attention. 
  • Having the certification indicates that you have exceptional knowledge and ability to manage and lead programs as well as performance that adds value to the organisation as a whole.
  • This certification renders you capable of managing or leading high-level programs and projects, and you can even come up with innovative solutions and strategies for businesses.
  • The PgMP certification not just benefits an aspiring program manager from the surface. It adds value to their overall identity and responsibility.

The PgMP exam has what requirements?

  • You should have experience both in program and project management courses
  • You should also have a bachelor’s degree or a high school diploma or equivalent with four years of experience in project management courses and seven years of experience in program management. 
  • Sometimes an audit is also required, but it’s random and only implemented in certain situations. An audit requires you to keep a record of every program or project you created, led, or managed, including the full details and contact information of the other managers who have collaborated with you for each project.  

What is the PgMP exam like?

The duration of the exam is four hours. It comprises 170 multiple choice questions, of which 150 are considered to be live questions, and the rest 20 are seeded or planted questions. You won’t be able to identify which questions are live and which ones are planted. So, you still need to finish all of the questions. The exam is linear, and you are required to gain at least a 65% score to pass. 

How and what are the skills assessed in the PgMP exam?

There are about thirty-five objectives in total in the PgMP exam, which are categorised into six subject program groups. The knowledge and skills covered during the examination are: 

  • Initiation
  • Outline
  • Implementation 
  • Planning
  • Closing
  • Monitoring or controlling

 Can You retake the PgMP exam?

Yes, you can. The exam can be taken up to three times within a year of the issue of your authorisation letter. But an additional fee of $500 (for PMI members) or $600 (for non-members) is required to be paid for the retake.

Important Topics and Weightage for PgMP Exam

To qualify the PgMP exam with an excellent score, it is crucial to prepare strategically. Therefore, you must have thorough knowledge of all the topics covered in the syllabus. In addition, you must also determine the weightage of these topics so that you know how many questions may come in the exam. 

To help with your preparation, the following table demonstrates weightage given to each PgMP exam topic:


Topic  Weightage 
Strategic program management  15%
Program life cycle

  • Planning – 11%
  • Initiating – 6%
  • Executing – 14%
  • Closing – 3%
  • Controlling – 10%
Stakeholder management  16%
Benefits management  11%
Governance  14%


You can apply for the certification on Koenig solutions. It provides a wide range of certifications in computer science and softwares. Additionally, you can also look for Prometric testing centres near your location and schedule a preferred exam date. 

It generally takes weeks for Prometric to get you a test date, so you are recommended to book the date earlier. Do not forget that an authorisation letter from the PMI is required that contains a code to assist you with your schedule. Once you successfully set a schedule for your test, you will be able to take it at the Prometric testing centre you have chosen.

Previous Story

List of 8 Digital Marketing Key Performance Indicators for your Campaign

Next Story

Page Loading Speed | Best Ways to Improve Page Loading Speed